Upcoming Games for 2017

There has already been a good crop of games this year, and bad ones for that matter. Even though we are over half way done with the calendar year, we may just be getting started with the games. We are getting into a massive amount of releases and I took the time to look forward at the games that will be assaulting my wallet.

Lawbreakers– 8/8 – I’m curious about this game but I don’t know if I’ll drop $30 on it. Hard to believe that it snuck up like it did and it releases today. Hard choice to try out Cliffy B’s new game but I may need to conserve the money give some of the other games on this list.

Agents of Mayhem – 8/15 – Unfortunately this one will probably hit the cutting room floor. As much as I love Saints Row, and how much this looks like it, I’ll likely not put $60 into EPIC Games’ latest release. I may  change my mind depending on how the reviews start showing.

Matterfall – 8/15 – Housemarque next game looks great but that should come as no surprise. The things they do they have always been done well and I’m sure this game will be no different. Chalk up $20, already spent.

Uncharted: Lost Legacy – 8/22 – A definite purchase. I’ve loved every entry, to varying degrees, in the Uncharted series and there is no reason for me not to play this game. Chalk up $40.

Destiny 2 – 9/8 – Even though I have not decided on a platform yet, I’lll be buying this game. Why deny it? I spent hundreds of hours in the original game with all the things I loved and loathed about it. Chalk up at least $60, maybe $100.

South Park: The Fractured But Whole – 10/17 – The Stick of Truth was an unexpected joy. Given all of its problems it turned out to be a blast. The Fractured But Whole has had similar problems and I’ve not been watching the show like I used but I still want this game. Chalk up $60.

Horizon Zero Dawn: The Frozen Wilds – 11/7 – Absolutely loved this game and want more of it. $15 already spent.

Star Wars Battlefront 2 – 11/17 –  Despite the issues the first game had, I still want to play the new game. They’ve added a story mode, which was sorely missing from the first one. Chalk up $60.

Days Gone – TBD – I’m on the fence about this one. It looks like it has great potential but they need to make it clearer what the game is really about. My fear is that it will be a survival game like The Last of Us and I didn’t care for that game. It all depends what more they show of this game. I expect more information around PAX West.

Detroit: Become Human – TBD –  This is another game that needs to show its identity before I commit to buying it. Every time they show more detail on this game it seems to contradict the previous reveal. Just not sure where this game is coming from.

There are other games that I want to want but just don’t. Call of Duty will have its annual release but I feel no need to pay much attention that game. Maybe I’ll rent it but I won’t buy it. Then there are all the games for the Switch that I won’t buy, because I don’t have a Switch.

The plus side here is that I don’t think my wallet is going to get assaulted as badly as I originally imagined. Also, after an initial burst, the purchases are paced out.

dudewantshisrug-profile
Paul Novak

Owner, Proprietor, Typer of Words, Gamer, Jester

A self described Polish ninja toiling away as an IT professional but more into gaming and writing. Physically existing on the western side of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania yet existentially flowing with the ether of the Internet.

Leave a Reply

