Is 2017 a Thin Year for Games???

no_gamesIn likely what is one of the most ridiculous first world problems, I don’t know if there there are many games I’m going to be playing this year. The thought came to me whilst looking at a list of 2017 games and realized that not only have I not bought anything so far this year, there are not many I plan to buy for the rest of the year.

First, let’s look at games I considered but already passed on:

  • Gravity Rush 2 – I played part of the first one on Vita but didn’t like the mechanics enough to maintain my interest in the story. Figured that it would be the same with the sequel and just didn’t bother.
  • Resident Evil 7: Biohazard – I’m not into horror games. I’m not into Resident Evil games. The only thing that drew me to have an interest in this game was the idea that it was in a small arena type space much like Batman: Arkham Asylum. What ultimately made me decide against purchasing it, even with the great reception that it has received, was my lack of interest in the horror genre as a whole. I tend to steer away from horror as a genre in general and just could not muster the initiative to justify purchasing this game.
  • Double Dragon IV – Even with the greatest of nostalgia, I could not imagine that this game would be very good. Against myself I rooted but ultimately it looks like I was right despite my best wishes. It appears, from what I’ve read and seen, that the game is not very good overall and has several technical issues that are downright sad.
  • For Honor – I wrote about the beta and had a great respect for it. In the end I felt that I would not get the value out of it that I needed to justify the full purchase price. Later on I can see buying it at a reduced cost but I also see that it may not be worth it given that it is multiplayer centric and may not retain enough player base to warrant a late game purchase.
  • Halo Wars 2 – I love the Halo franchise. There is also a belief within me that it is dying a slow painful death. The original Halo Wars game was not a blockbuster within the franchise and the announcement of a sequel was a definitive head scratcher. Given the general decline of the franchise and the distance of interest in RTS games, I just didn’t want to play this game.

Next, let’s look at games I am considering but likely will pass on as well:

  • The Legend of Zelda: Breadth of the Wild – I don’t own a Wii U, I’m not buying a Switch and I haven’t played a Zelda game since the original on NES. I should just skip this.
  • Tom Clancy’s Ghost Recon: Wildlands – I played the closed beta but was just not convinced to invest in the game either more of my time in the open beta or purchasing the full game.
  • Rock Band VR – Uhhhh…. I don’t own a Rift.
  • Injustice 2 – I am absolutely terrible at fighting games, I should not play this as to save my money as well as my sanity.
  • Uncharted 4 DLC – As much as I loved the Uncharted 4 game I don’t feel the same draw to any of the expansion material. Not that I don’t think it is worth while but rather that I don’t feel it is worth my while.

Then, we see the few games I do plan on getting:

  • Horizon: Zero Dawn – Initially, I was on the fence about this game but the more I see of it the more I want it. The fact that reviews are coming out for it that are overwhelming positive in ways that I am in tune with are only reinforcing this desire.
  • Mass Effect: Andromeda – This game had given me a lot of question and concern but I also had the same concerns before I bought into the franchise initially. Once I got into it, it was a full sell in. Not that it is reasonable to expect the same totalitarian response, I have hopes and reasonable expectations, based on what I’ve seen, that this game will be a continuation of the same type and style that I have enjoyed in previous games.
  • South Park: The Fractured But Whole – Given that it was officially delayed, we don’t know for sure when it will release. That is okay but it is not guaranteed that will drop in the 2017 calendar year. I am also not sold in the combat changes that have been shown but I am open to them.

What concerns me is not the games that are coming out but my level of interest in them. There a veritable plethora of games coming out that I gave no mention above but not caught any of my interest.  It is a solid possibility that it is not a problem with quality or type of games being released but rather my taste and/or interest in said games have become questionable. This is something that I have concerned myself for several months but have not found remedy for. It first came to my attention during the holiday sale on Steam when I bought nothing as apposed to the previous year and I spent nearly $100 dollars. Am I being more frugal or just narrowing my interest? Hard to tell for sure and only time and experience will tell.

For the year or 2017, the look ahead looks a bit bleak. There are hopes that that will changes and un expected gems while arise that I will be into. If that fails to happen, I have to hold on to the hopes that the few games that I plan to invest in will have a continued replay value. As no one can tell the future, only time will tell.

dudewantshisrug-profile

Paul Novak

Owner, Proprietor, Typer of Words, Gamer, Jester

A self described Polish ninja toiling away as an IT professional but more into gaming and writing. Physically existing on the western side of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania yet existentially flowing with the ether of the Internet.

One thought on “Is 2017 a Thin Year for Games???

Leave a Reply

