I Played – Marvel Heroes

marvelheroesthumb

Marvel Heroes was initially released in 2013 but has continued to be tweaked and added to throughout 2015. Those familiar with MMORPG’s will find this game easily accessible and playable. For those of us with less experience in that genre, well…

Admittedly, I don’t play MMORPG’s with any depth or regularity. In fact the most experience I have with this type of game is Diablo III on PS4 and Xbox One. Playing on the PC is not my first choice but there certainly is a limited amount of these types of games on the modern console and of the few that are there, Marvel Heroes is not one of them.

Being a fan of the Marvel movies made me interested in at least trying this game. The Guardians of the Galaxy movie directed effected my choice of Rocket Raccoon as my hero. With little upgrade to my character I found the world to functional but somewhat lacking. The keyboard/mouse control works will if you are familiar with it but given that I am much more used to controller based play this was a struggle for me. I could learn in time to deal with the controls, however, and upgrading my character definitely made game play faster as I was able to mow through enemies with ease. One thing that did continuously irk me was the lack of direction when given a mission to complete. The text describing the goal could be vague or unclear and it was necessary at time to wander aimlessly in order to find an objective.

After reaching level 14 with my character, my interest in the game waned in the third chapter of the story. Although the story itself was interesting it was not compelling enough to entice me into continuing with the game.

If you are interested in MMORPG’s or just like the Marvel characters give the game a shot. After all, you can’t argue with the price and the PC requirements are relatively low. Be warned  that the base game is free but there are microtransactions in the game. I will say there was never an indication on my part that I had to purchase anything in order to play the game with being hindered.

 

dudewantshisrug-profile

Paul Novak

Owner, Proprietor, Typer of Words, Gamer, Jester

A self described Polish ninja toiling away as an IT professional but more into gaming and writing. Physically existing on the western side of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania yet existentially flowing with the ether of the Internet.

Leave a Reply

