Dude’s Chronicles 8-30-2015: Biding Time

summerHere it is, the end of August, the very cusp of so many things. By this time next week, meaningful college football games will have been played, Metal Gear Solid 5 will have been released, and pretty much everybody’s kids will be in school which will be the unofficial end of summer for most of us.

2708326-peace-walker-posterTo bide my time, I relented to the grind and completed Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker. It took a few hours to grind out and get the weapons that I needed to beat the final boss but it was worth it to me. The game felt incomplete until I did so and it filled in a lot of story that leads up to Ground Zeroes and The Phantom Pain. What I am not enjoying, however, is Metal Gear Rising: Revengance. I’m probably, or hopefully, about three-quarters of the way through this game and even though it has a story line much akin to the Metal Gear series, I can see how many are displeased with it. Forget about not playing as Big Boss or Solid Snake, the game play in Revengance just isn’t satisfying. Not that I will clam to be very good at these games but it gets frustrating at points and just doesn’t feel worth playing. Since I’m already this far into it I’ll likely finish it and then never acknowledge it again.

seeking-a-friend-for-the-end-of-the-worldTo take a break from Metal Gear, I watched some movies. I’ve said my peace about Gone Girl and stand behind it…that is just not a good movie. Another movie that I didn’t much enjoy was Seeking a Friend for the End of the World. Perhaps my expectations were off going into it but I had had the impression that it was to be more of a comedy and it very much so was not that. It was very dark but was certainly more of a love story that involved very little comedy at all. Steve Carell’s work in this film reminded much of Jim Carrey’s in The Cable Guy, that is not a compliment.

At least football is starting, both real and fantasy. College games start this week with professional games following. I have one more fantasy draft to get through and I should be done with those. Good to have those done before I devote a lot of time to The Phantom Pain.

dudewantshisrug-profilePaul Novak

Owner, Proprietor, Writer, Gamer, Jester

A self described Polish ninja toiling away as an IT professional but more into gaming and writing. Physically existing on the western side of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania yet existentially flowing with the ether of the Internet.

Leave a Reply

