Dude’s Chronicles 8-2-2015: Staying Awake

sleepyI’m really tired, really tired. For whatever reason I just can’t seem to wake up or get going today.

Johnson_&_VergilIn my quest to complete the Master Chief Collection, I have taken the next step and completed Halo 3: ODST. This game is still under-rated in my opinion and playing it again only emphasizes this. The complaint I hear most about this game is that it does not star the Master Chief himself and this still seems like a silly argument for not liking the game. The atmosphere and feel of the game is strikingly different than any other Halo game and that is a compliment. My only regret is that Firefight is not included in the remaster.

the_mugatus

It took me a while to figure out why Jupiter Ascending was so disturbing to me, then it dawned on me. Look at the picture above and tell me that they did not turn Channing Tatum into Mugatu. Beyond that, the movie was just bad. It occurred to me that it was one of those overly complicated storylines that work in books but don’t pan out as a movie. It also occurred to me that the movie tried to be entertaining by having unnecessary action scenes and over using special effects. I felt like I was watching the new Star Wars version of Cinderella meets Waterworld.

metal-gear-solid-4-guns-of-the-patriotsMy binge watching of Bob’s Burgers on Netflix has taken a strange hiatus. After speaking with Kayla, I started watching YouTube videos of Metal Gear and, frankly, I don’t think I understand that series anymore than when I started. I’ve watched the videos for the original Metal Gear, Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake, somehow skipped Metal Gear Solid(most likely by cause of confusion), Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty, and Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater. This has now lead me to digging out the copy of Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots that I own and start playing it. I have the sneaking suspicion that either I have just entered into a gaming rabbit hole that will take weeks to recover from or I’m going to get frustrated or bored quickly with the game and move on to something else. With only 1.5 hours into the game, I’m not willing to give up just yet. Perhaps somebody(coughs and blames Kayla for all of this) can help fill in the gaps of all things Metal Gear that I don’t understand.

Hmmm…I think I’m going to go get ice cream.

 

dudewantshisrug-profilePaul Novak

Owner, Proprietor, Writer, Gamer, Jester

A self described Polish ninja toiling away as an IT professional but more into gaming and writing. Physically existing on the western side of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania yet existentially flowing with the ether of the Internet.

Leave a Reply

