Dude’s Chronicles 5-17-2015: Smokey Sunday

smokeonthewaterThe year 2015 has been the bane of my existence for the last few months. Ever since its arrival it has been one thing after another that has gone wrong. No, this will not be a detailed construction of all the miseries and misfortunes that have plagued me this year. I’ll only share the latest. For lunch I decided I wanted pizza and after mulling over the choice of ordering from one of the local shops or grabbing one out of the freezer, I choice the later course of action. After putting the pizza in the oven and setting the timer, I sat down to watch a program on Netflix. Just as the timer digs, I get a waft of a most unpleasant scent. As I make it to the kitchen I see smoke bellowing out of my oven. The pizza had been scorched and if that were not enough the fire alarm for the entire apartment building was now going off. At least unlike other people in the building, I owned up to my mistake immediately when the authorities arrived. Perhaps in hindsight, I should have just ordered the pizza.

roger-ebert1At the time of previously mentioned incident, I happened to be watching Life Itself. It is a documentary about Roger Ebert and if you have not already watched it, I encourage you to do so. Too many people, Roger Ebert was know as little more than the fat guy that criticizes movies. In part that is true but take the time to watch the documentary and you will find that he was much deeper of a man than what was portrayed on television. Better yet, go read some his work.

Watching the film brought back the memory of where I was when I learned of his passing. It was an unusual Thursday that found me at the Trappe Tavern having lunch as well as a few beers. The lunch was well gone, as were a few beers, when I found myself perusing the Internet since there was nobody to make conversation with. The standard fare of news and stupidity crossed my watch until I happened upon an article about Roger Ebert’s death. At the time I was not familiar with his catalog of work outside of television but that quickly changed. I read the article in its entirety no less than three times. Then I combed the Internet for more of his work, vacuously sucking it in. It must have been the better part of the afternoon, or at least a few hours, that I poured his words over my eyes. This man that was played off as a blowhard on the television was an eloquent dancer of the written word. I then shared my remorse of his passing on Facebook with a link to the article that had spurred by interest, attached to the words “RIP to a critic both loved and hated but influential nonetheless less”. It seemed that now since I had found a glimpse of of this genius, others should look upon it as well. However, I found my post was met with one response – “I can tell ur either bored or drunk”. It may very well be that people think as little of me as I did of Roger Ebert.

destiny-house-of-wolvesThere has been little else I have gotten to do of late. Diablo is becoming less of something I want to play. As much as people complain about the grinding in Destiny, I find Diablo’s grinding even more boring. Perhaps it is only that fact hat I enjoy shooters more than RPG’s but I find that Diablo is becoming less and less interesting to me. On the other hand, Destiny has somewhat  comeback to the forefront. The excitement and enthusiasm of the new DLC is somewhat tempering as I learn more about it. Since I may never play the PVP portion, Trials of Osiris, it holds nearly no interest to me. The PVE portion, Temple of Elders, looks like a cross between a MOBA and Halo’s Firefight mode. As far as the additional campaign…well, who knows. Bungie has not revealed anything of it but given that the story components of The Dark Below were so lack luster, I cannot expect much more from the upcoming DLC. One thing that did bring some ire and humor was the effect patch 1.2.0 had on the Cryptach. Now not only does he give you garbage for your engrams, he may not take you engrams as all. Don’t worry though, Bungie ‘promises’ this will be fixed when the House of Wolves goes live on May 19th. I won’t hold my breath.

Bio Card Paul

Paul Novak is a self described Polish ninja toiling away as an IT professional but more into gaming and writing. Physically existing in the west side of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania yet existentially flowing with the ether of the Internet. Found here at What’s Your Tag? and on the Twitter @dudewantshisrug. Game on with Team XBRO!

Leave a Reply

