Dude’s Chronicles 4-20-2015: A Day Late But Just As Delightful

Christmas birthday cake pictureOk, so I’m a day late. Yesterday was my birthday so I would appreciate a pass for that.

Daredevil-Netflix-LogoIf you ever wait for things to slow down so that you can catch up, you may as well be prepared to get run over. The week provided little opportunity for entertainment pursuits. In fact I didn’t get to watch anything until Sunday night when I watched one episode of the Daredevil series on Netflix. I will say that it peeked my interest and I look forward to watching more of it.

Neverwinter-1-620x350As for gaming, Neverwinter was the only game I played and it came very close to unnerving me. Through the process of diligent grinding, my only character is level thirty-eight. It seems that the deeper into the game I go, the more cumbersome the grinding becomes. The saving grace it that the game continues to open up with more areas and enemies thus reducing the harshness of the grind by providing some freshness.

The down turn of Neverwinter seems to be the weekends. The game itself has some technical issues and they become more exaggerated on the weekends, due likely to the increased player counts. On Saturday night, however, it was unbearable. After several failed attempts to even log into the game, I queued up for a dungeon and while I waited for the next hour to get in I continued to grind. The grind was horrible with the game frequently locking. This was especially bad when it happened in the midst of a battle and gained control back just in time to save my life. This was not always the case and it was what made me leave the game for the night. During one of the boss fights in the dungeon, the game froze again but upon my return I was prompted with the death screen. This was the last straw and instead of getting angry, I turned the Xbox One off and went to bed.

Truly, I hate quiting in the middle of a game and leaving the group a player short but I also could ‘t bear the frustration any longer. I’ve resigned myself to playing Neverwinter only on week days when it is seemingly more reliable and stable.

After this week, I hope to have some more time for entertainment. This is the final week for my bowling league and we didn’t even come close to making the roll-offs. Maybe next year but for now I’ll have one more night free until next season.

 

Bio Card Paul

Paul Novak is a self described Polish ninja toiling away as an IT professional but more into gaming and writing. Physically existing in the west side of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania yet existentially flowing with the ether of the Internet. Found here at What’s Your Tag? and on the Twitter @dudewantshisrug. Game on with Team XBRO!

Leave a Reply

