Dude’s Chronicles 3-22-2015: Dog Days

The-girls-of-DOG-DAYS-dog-days-23791553-1920-1200My weekend trip got canceled, so I stayed inside watching Netflix and finishing Watch Dogs. All things considered….not a bad weekend.

House-of-Cards-CitationThe third season of House of Cards was, quite frankly, fantastic. If you have Netflix and have not watched this show, you need to seriously re-evaluate your watching habits. No spoilers but this season included more twists that I did not necessarily see coming and got much darker than I anticipated. The only thing that disappoints me is that its over and I don’t know when they are releasing the next season.

Since I still need things to watch, I started watching An Idiot Abroad after a friend recommended it. Not sure about my friend’s recommendation so far but I’m only through the first two episodes. It doesn’t seem as outrageously funny as it was sold to me as. Most of it feels contrived and setup giving it a very unnatural sense. Plus, since the star is a comedian, it’s is hard to tell if he is being sincere or just acting.

watch-dogs-aiden-pearce-wallpaperWatch Dogs turned out better than I thought it would. The game started out slow and never took off at any point. The characters never got flushed out and issues with the plot persisted until the end. Overall, the game had a lot of potential but wasn’t able to come close to fulfilling it. Better writing would have made the game not only more believable but also more enjoyable. I made the statement, and will stand by it, that if you want to play a game with the word ‘dogs’ in the title, play Sleeping Dogs instead.

Are you confused about the first graphic in this post? So was I. After picking my title, I put “dog days” into Google, and this was what came up in the image search. If you want to know more about Dog Days, read this. I haven’t seen the show, nor am I going to, but I figured it might make a few people question what was going on here.

Bio Card Paul

Paul Novak is a self described Polish ninja toiling away as an IT professional but more into gaming and writing. Physically existing in the west side of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania yet existentially flowing with the ether of the Internet. Found here at What’s Your Tag? and on the Twitter @dudewantshisrug. Game on with Team XBRO!

Leave a Reply

