Dude’s Chronicles 3-1-2015: It’s Still Winter

Special thanks to The Weather Channel for showing us the obvious.

Special thanks to The Weather Channel for showing us the obvious.

It’s cold, it’s snowing, it’s March. I’ll just never understand why some people expect Winter to end when February is over.

As for entertainment this week…it was a sad state of affairs. I rewatched more of Star Wars: The Clone Wars and some of the movies. House of Cards is still lying in wait. Saddest news of all was the passing of Leonard Nimoy.

TombRaider-Definitive-EditionAs for games, there was but one for me – Tomb Raider: The Definitive Edition on Xbox One. I had played the reboot on PS3 but this game still holds up and was worth the $25(don’t even start on me about the price, Amazon has it cheaper but GameStop had it in stock for me to take home for the weekend). The game was started on Friday and completed Sunday before I started this post. As fantastic as the game looked on the PS3, it was even more stunning on the Xbox One. Surely the PS4 edition is just as fine but with the sequel being an Xbox exclusive I figured I may as well play it on that platform.

All the way through Tomb Raider, I thought about The Order: 1886….here me out. Sure Tomb Raider is a remaster from a previous generation but it is one of the prettiest games I’ve played on the Xbox One. Many have said that The Order: 1886 is the prettiest game of this current generation but being pretty is where the similarities may end for these games. As I played through Tomb Raider I couldn’t help but remark how seamlessly it cut back and forth from gameplay and QuickTime events. This is some thing that apparently The Order: 1886 struggled with as well as balancing between the time spent watching cinematics and actual gameplay. I can’t say for sure how much these two games compare to each other since I have yet to play The Order: 1886 but everything I see and hear makes me not want to.

bertIf you’ve got time today and wouldn’t mind helping out a bro…Miles from What’s Your Tag? is trying to raise some funds for his little guy Bert(ain’t he adorable?..Bert that is). He’ll be streaming until 5PM Pacific but you can find more details at his fundraising site. If you can’t donate that’s ok, stop by and lend a word or support or pass the word to some friends.

Bio Card Paul

Paul Novak is a self described Polish ninja toiling away as an IT professional but more into gaming and writing. Physically existing in the west side of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania yet existentially flowing with the ether of the Internet. Found here at What’s Your Tag? and on the Twitter @dudewantshisrug. Game on with Team XBRO!

Leave a Reply

