Dude’s Chronicles 2-1-2015: Filling Time

winter-weather1Winter weather and on-call for work? Yep, not much to do except hit the back log.

infamous-first-light-featuredOne thing I won’t be making time for is Final Fantasy XIII. Not to say anything against the game, I’ve decided I don’t want to play it anymore. As beautiful as it is, there just isn’t enough to keep me playing it. The combat system isn’t a style I like and it is becoming more intricate than I want to play. Say what you will about it but I prefer first and third person shooters, Final Fantasy XIII most decidedly does not fit those game types. Perhaps what really ruined it for me was finding out that it is a 30-50 hour game and I was still less than 10 hours into it.

Playing one side mission in Mass Effect 3 didn’t get me into playing it again, even after walking away from Final Fantasy XIII. Instead I played through inFAMOUS: First Light.  It was fairly short but since it was only DLC for a larger game and it free with PS+, I was fine with what I got from it. The story and gameplay were, what I feel, typical of the inFAMOUS series. After playing through the main story of First Light, I probably won’t go back to it since the battle arena and side quests don’t seem to be worth my while.

theinterviewIf you’re looking to waste about two hours of your time, watch The Interview. Good thing this movie got a lot of press by controversy because it wouldn’t have gotten it otherwise. It wasn’t very funny and felt like it dragged on trying to set things up that never paid off. If you’re browsing Netflix and see this one, keep browsing. Two movies I will tell you to watch instead are Stand Up Guys and 3 Days to Kill. Both of these movies have some action in them but are more character driven. If you would rather see a comedy, Anchorman 2 is still available.

Apparently there is some television event that is supposed to be one of the biggest of the year airing today and Katy Perry is somehow involved. Maybe I’ll check this out, or maybe not.

 

Bio Card Paul

Paul Novak is a self described Polish ninja toiling away as an IT professional but more into gaming and writing. Physically existing in the west side of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania yet existentially flowing with the ether of the Internet. Found here at What’s Your Tag? and on the Twitter @dudewantshisrug. Game on with Team XBRO!

Leave a Reply

