Dude’s Chronicles 1-18-2015: Time Sinks

Well…football is over. The college national championship is done, congratulations Ohio State. I never would have picked that team to be in the playoff but they proved they deserved it and showed that at least one Big 10 team is for real. As far as the NFL goes, I consider that over as well since I don’t have much of a stake in any of the teams still playing. If we see anything other than a Seahawks and Patriots title game I’ll be surprised.

Not having football is just more opportunity for other things, like movies and games. My attempts to clear out my Netflix queue are not going as well as planned though, since I watched several things but added more. Just for fun, I watched the animated Ultimate Avengers movies. The original and its sequel are yet another take on the Avengers story line. These are not the greatest or most fantastic of movies but for an animated movie they were fun to watch and that was all I was going for. To complement these, I also watched a documentary about Stan Lee call With Great Power: The Stan Lee Story.

Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow was the only full length movie I’ve watched within the last week. Frankly, I could have done without watching it. The best I can say for the film was that it wasn’t bad but it wasn’t very good either. The special effects seemed to overwhelm the movie and became a distraction. The story itself seemed a bit contrived and did generate much interest or intrigue on its own.

Even though I got myself back into Mass Effect, I quickly found myself right back out of it. I did play more of Mass Effect 3 but I managed to play some other games as well. As I had hoped, I was able to play the entirety of DuckTales: Remastered. It was great to revisit that game after all these years and they did a great job updating the game as well. However, I did not get to play any of the inFAMOUS: First Light.

Lack of time was not the problem with getting to inFAMOUS: First Light, rather it was distraction. I decided to try to hit some of my PS3 back log of games. Initially I started playing Fallout 3 but after the first two hours I could not get interested enough in it to continue. By the time I got out of the vault and to the town of Megaton, I just didn’t want to play the game anymore. After this I made a random choice from my stack of games and ended up with Final Fantasy XIII and this was the last game I ever expected to get hooked into. After four hours it was obvious that I was in to this game, regardless of what I had thought going into it. I found that the graphics are amazing and the game to be enthralling, even though I don’t really understand what is going on. My problem now is that I’m at the Odin encounter and despite trying several different strategies, I just can’t get past it. If anybody have a good strategy for someone new to the game, I’d love to hear it.

There is still football to watch, even though I don’t really care who wins I still want to see it. Time to drink more coffee, play games, and relax. Enjoy your day.

Bio Card Paul

Paul Novak is a self described Polish ninja toiling away as an IT professional but more into gaming and writing. Physically existing in the west side of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania yet existentially flowing with the ether of the Internet. Found here at What’s Your Tag? and on the Twitter @dudewantshisrug. Game on with Team XBRO!

Leave a Reply

