Dude’s Chronicles 11-30-2014: Halo’s Hangover

turkey-carcassFor some of us the turkey coma lingers but we must carry on regardless. Unfortunately we now must face the craze that engulfs us before Christmas gets here.

maxresdefault-2-destiny-vault-of-glass-guide-3-the-labyrinth-atheon-s-chamberLet’s get the Destiny talk out of the way. I played one run of The Vault of Glass and it is still broken. Since it was a holiday week, I can understand Bungie not putting out a patch this week but with less than two weeks before The Dark Below arrives one would think that Bungie would want to get things in order. With other games vying for gamers money and time, Bungie better get things right with the expansion content or be prepared to lose more players.

halo-mccPlaying The Master Chief Collection made me realize something…I don’t remember as much of these games as I thought I did. The general story line is there in my memory but when it comes to traversing the actual campaign of the first game I am struggling. In some ways it is like playing a new game and having a fresh experience. In other ways it is infuriating that I have almost no recollection of what to do.

At the half way point of Halo CE, I am noticing some problems. There were a few instances when I fell through the map when near a ledge. During stages of the game the screen seems to slow down or almost stop. I’ve spoken to other people playing the game and they are not seeing these issues. It may be my system since in the last few days I’ve had to pair my controller with the system several times because it no longer was recognized and at one point the system thought I had just plugged in my Kinect even though it was never unplugged. Perhaps there are some ghosts in my Xbox One.
ps-vita-1Believe it or not, my Vita still works. The battery needed charged but it is in fine working order despite not being used for weeks if not months. I find, however, that the reasons it has set dormant still remain as there are no games that compel me to use the device. Free games from PS+ like Sly Cooper and Metrico just don’t interest me. Please don’t think I’m calling them bad games, I just don’t feel like playing them. Dragon’s Crown held my interest for a few sessions but ultimately could not keep me playing.

Alas poor Vita, there is just no reason to play you.

O’well…if you missed the big Black Friday rush get your chairs and computers ready for Cyber Monday! I’ve got some more time to put into Halo. How far I make it I cannot tell. Much like Thanksgiving dinner there is a point when you just can’t handle any more.

Bio Card Paul

Paul Novak is a self described Polish ninja toiling away as an IT professional but more into gaming and writing. Physically existing in the west side of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania yet existentially flowing with the ether of the Internet. Found here at What’s Your Tag? and on the Twitter @dudewantshisrug. Game on with Team XBRO!

Leave a Reply

