Dude’s Chronicles 11-23-2014: Happy Thanks-Halo-giving

Thanksgiving dinnerWe find ourselves just a few days away from over indulging in mass quantities of turkey and accompanying fixings. Many of us will have to put down our controllers and interact with our families. Yuck!

halo-mccI have not played a single second of The Master Chief collection since I last wrote. The match making issues were not the problem, I just didn’t play any of the games at all. I’m saving them up for Thanksgiving morning and following weekend. Just playing the campaigns will fill my time while I’m on call for work.iron_banner_lord

Playing Destiny found me doing two things I promised myself I would never do. First, I deleted my second warlock character in order to create a hunter. Having played the hunter class in both the alpha and beta, I found it to be the weakest and least interesting class. That was the complete opposite of my expectations going into the game. The decision to create a character in this class finally came because of a certain set of circumstances. For one, I didn’t want to play the Vault of Glass anymore due to all the issues I documented last week but creating my hunter caused me to do the second thing I promised not to do – play Iron Banner.

Just to be clear, I still don’t really care for competitive online play but the Iron Banner pulled me in. Since I created the hunter character I took it into the Iron Banner in order to get it some gear that would be capable of getting to level 30. In two days I managed to get to a high enough rank to get the boots and that along with hunter armor I had been saving got the character to level 28. Which made to do something else I didn’t want to do – play the Vault of Glass.

maxresdefault-2-destiny-vault-of-glass-guide-3-the-labyrinth-atheon-s-chamberApparently I have an affinity to torture myself since I made the decision to play a character I didn’t want to play in a game mode that I wanted to avoid. However, reaching the appropriate level to take part in the Vault of Glass drew me back in just for the chance of getting a full set of gear for level 30 on this newly created character. I should have said “fool” set of gear because the only piece of gear I got was the raid boots. Ha ha RNG, very funny.

Beyond only getting the boots as an insult, I found that the raid is still broken. Defeating Atheon should not be a challenge that involves battling the flaws of the game itself. On the first attempt we hit the glitch of only one person getting teleported. Then we hit a different glitch that just killed the entire team for no apparent reason. At first I though the team missed an oracle but I was on the teleported team the second time this happened and I could not find any missed oracles. When the Vault of Glass was first released it didn’t play the way Bungie wanted it to but with their efforts to make it what they want it has become broken.

Remember to be thankful this Thanksgiving. Remember those who are not as well off. Remember to be safe. Remember not to drink and drive. Remember not too eat too much.

Bio Card Paul

Paul Novak is a self described Polish ninja toiling away as an IT professional but more into gaming and writing. Physically existing in the west side of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania yet existentially flowing with the ether of the Internet. Found here at What’s Your Tag? and on the Twitter @dudewantshisrug. Game on with Team XBRO!

Leave a Reply

