Dude’s Chronicles 11-9-2014: Sunset Over and Done With

codawIt’s Call of Duty season!!! I can name at least one person who is not playing Advanced Warfare… ME!!! The decision to not spend $60 or more on the game was an easy one. The disappointment from Modern Warfare 3 was still memorable and I didn’t want to go through that again. In fact, I only bought Ghosts because it was a launch game for the Xbox One. There was, however, at least one good thing that came from the newest CoD game and that would be Conan O’Brien’s play through.

I’ve only talked to one friend that has actually played the game. When asked how the game was his response of “eh, it’s Call of Duty” was somewhat less than a resounding endorsement. I may rent this one in the future just to see what it is like but in all honesty I never end up renting games.

sunset-overdriveSpeaking of disappointments, I’ve officially thrown in the towel on Sunset Overdrive. After several attempts it is apparent that I don’t want to play this game. In less than fifteen minutes I find that I can’t stand playing it any more. The graphics and story seem fine but I don’t care for the action style of always moving and I think the guns are not good. There are many people out there raving about this game, I just don’t agree with them.

2kgmkt_evolve_bigalpha_blog_headerThe “Big Alpha” turned in to a “Big Bust” for EVOLVE. I got into the Big Alpha on the Xbox One but found the game to lack life. The 4-vs-1 muliplayer only did not strike a cord with me. At least I could play the game on the Xbox One, even with a patch the game still would not play on my PS4. The game would load and let me choose my preferred class but would crash before any match would start. Unless something drastically changes, this game is off of my must buy list.

destiny-neveragainThen there is my continuing love/hate relationship with Destiny. Just a quick rant – I completed the Vault of Glass on hard mode with one character and got materials for upgrades, I did the Vault of Glass on normal mode with another character and finally get a weapon(Atheon’s Epilogue) that has eluded me until now. People complained about Diablo III’s loot system but it eventually got fixed. Does anybody remember how long that took? Two months after Destiny’s release it is still a huge frustration to get such random rewards. I completely understand how and why people have given up on this game.

As for myself, no matter how many times I say I’ll not play for a day or two I find myself coming back to it regardless. Just the other day a friend saw I was online doing the raid again and messaged me “don’t you have something else to be doing?”, my only reply was “but I like punching myself in the face”.

Halo-Master-Chief-CollectionThe light at the end of the tunnel is the upcoming Master Chief Collection. Maybe, just maybe, I can pull off a double victory. Perhaps I’ll finally be able to pull myself away from Destiny to relive four of the Halo games and give my gaming psyche a needed break. The plan is rid myself of Sunset Overdrive as well and get the maximum trade in value for the game that I can.

halo2-remakingEven with preparing myself for Halo, I can find cause to be confused and vexed. The documentary Remaking the Legend – Halo 2: Anniversary was supposed to be a free video about the process to remaster the classic game. The first moment of confusion comes when trying to find the video to watch it. Buried within  the Xbox One console you’ll have to install Xbox Video and then search for the documentary in order to watch it. The frustration hits when one realizes that a large portion of the documentary is about the upcoming Halo 5: Guardians and not about the Halo 2 retooling. It felt more like an advertisement for the new game rather than a celebration of the old game.

After watching the documentary and feeling somewhat disappointed, I decided to try and re-watch some other Halo based entertainment. Halo: Legends, The Return, and Midnight in the Heard of Midlothian had been films I watched for free on Halo Waypoint but now find that they must be purchased in Xbox Video. It is nothing short of frustrating and even aggravating to be subjected to this play for money. I am all for people making money but how can you charge for content that was once given for free?

I’m done for now. All these feelings will pass as they always do and I will continue gaming.

Bio Card Paul

Paul Novak is a self described Polish ninja toiling away as an IT professional but more into gaming and writing. Physically existing in the west side of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania yet existentially flowing with the ether of the Internet. Found here at What’s Your Tag? and on the Twitter @dudewantshisrug. Game on with Team XBRO!

Leave a Reply

