Dude’s Chronicles 6-14-2018: The One After E3

Image via knowyourmeme.com

Remember when I said this felt like a weird place for E3?

Entertainment

  • I watched a lot of E3 stuff, both press conferences and Giant Bomb shows, as predicted. However, I missed the Nintendo Direct and only saw 10 minutes of the Square Enix show.

Games

  • XCOM 2 – This game has some of the flaws of the first game but some better points. I still feel like I don’t understand the mechanics and the game is not helping me with them. Still going to play more of the game.

News

  • Devolver Digital – RIP Dave Lang, again.
  • EA Press conference – Boring as always, standard.
  • Bethesda – Maybe the most exciting press conference with nothing I was interested in.
  • Ubisoft – Voted most disappointing in high school and E3 2018.
  • Sony – Best games with the worst presentation.
  • Microsoft – Best presentation on a professional level but also the most overwhelming which took it down a notch.
  • EA Access Premier – Ummmm, I want more details on this but as an EA Access subscriber this feels wrong. Please tell me more so I can be wrong about it being wrong.
  • Battlefield V – Battle Royale inbound, yawn. That was about it for this one.
  • Battlefront II – Why is this even a topic in 2018? I was so excited for that game before it release but after I played it I felt like I had been kicked in the balls. Now it only feels like a slap in the face.
  • Anthem – The only exciting thing was the announcement of 2/22/2019 as the release date. Unless they show something that tells me otherwise this just looks like a Destiny clone.
  • Beyond Good and Evil 2 – I’m more confused than ever as to what this game is. Not looking forward to more of it.
  • Skulls and Bones – I thought Sea of Pirates already proved we don’t need/want a pirate simulator? Just my opinion but I am completely ok with other people loving it.
  • Transference – lol. Forgot this even was a thing. That might be their biggest issue that it is so forgettable.
  • Assassin’s Creed Odyssey – This is the most interested I’ve ever been in an Assassin’s game.
  • Destiny expansion – I really wish I cared about this game. This isn’t doing anything to get me back into it either. E3 reinforced this.
  • Spider-man – Sold. I was on the fence but that game play made a sale.
  • Last of Us: Part 2 – I have a lot of brain thoughts rolling through my head about this. Having not been a fan of the original game as many others but wanting them to do more with the story because I really enjoyed the Left Behind DLC it’s hard to gauge where I am with this game.
  • Death Stranding – Every time they show this game I get a little less interested. Is this a UPS delivery man simulator? Are babies gummie bears? I don’t know and I’m starting to seriously not care.
  • Control – Looks cool but I know too little to get too excited about it.
  • Resident Evil 2 – Never played it and don’t care for the series but glad to see other people excited about it.
  • Kingdom Hearts III – It looks like Disney dumped their entire catalog, except for Marvel, into this game. It had a big presence by showing up in multiple shows. Still don’t want to play it. Again, glad to see other people excited.
  • Halo Infinite – Confirmed, more Halo. Kind of wish they had said more. Kind of glad they didn’t.
  • Fallout 76 – Sometimes I wish I cared about this series but I just don’t. I’ll again say I’m glad to see others excited.
  • Crackdown 3 – So…. it’s Saint’s Row??????????
  • Metro: Exodus – Again, wish I cared because the game looks really cool but that is not making me remotely interested in playing it. However, other are excited and that’s cool.
  • Microsoft buys a bunch of studios – So many thoughts on this that I am still processing.
  • Game Pass – Game Pass, Game Pass, Game Pass, Game Pass, Game Pass, Game Pass, Game Pass. Ok, I get it. Microsoft sells Game Pass and it can be a good deal if Microsoft launches enough first party titles into it. Wait until they start tiering it like EA.
  • The Division 2 – I’m actually less excited after seeing it than before. The setting is fine but it feels like they gave up on the Dollar Flu problem but what most irks me is the introduction of classes. Not sure I like that I have to pick one of only three specialties whereas in the original my character played based on how I geared them. Maybe they have more to show that the class thing isn’t such a big deal but time will tell.
  • Shadow of the Tomb Raider – I was already sold on this game. Please stop teasing me.
  • Session. – Why the f&($ wasn’t it Skate 4?!?!?!?
  • Devil May Cry 5 – Another series I don’t care about or have played but man, that looked cool as $#!%.
  • Battletoads – Why? Why? I remember hating the original. What am I missing?
  • Gears Pop – No, no, no, no, nooooooooooooo.
  • Gears Tactics – XCOM-like, yes.
  • Gears 5 – Interested. Wanted to see more but willing to wait.
  • CyberPunk – Well…. so little but so interesting. I want to see more but not too much because I don’t want this game to feel over-exposed like I think Death Stranding is getting to.

Closing Arguments

I’m still processing E3 and I want to watch the press conferences that I missed before giving an overall opinion but this year was just weird. If feels like a set up for a big E3 next year. There are a ton of games releasing between this fall and next spring that will surely hurt our wallets clearing the path for the possibility of a next-next-gen console announcement in 2019.

dudewantshisrug-profile
Paul Novak

Owner, Proprietor, Typer of Words, Gamer, Jester

A self described Polish ninja toiling away as an IT professional but more into gaming and writing. Physically existing on the western side of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania yet existentially flowing with the ether of the Internet.

Advertisements

Dude’s Chronicles 6-6-2018: The One Before E3

Image via tenor.com

E3 is almost here!

Entertainment

  • Westworld: Season 2, Episode 7 – Meh, show is definitely not interesting me but I’ll watch the rest of the season for no other reason than I’ve watched this much of it already.
  • Atomic Blonde – Still love the aesthetics of the film and I keep watching for some unknown reason.
  • Blade Runner 2049 – I was one of the people that didn’t think this movie should have happened but I’m glad it was good. Even watching it again though I don’t think it is as good as some people make it out to me. The first movie was still much better.

Games

  • Battletech – After a few more hours of playing I’ve decided I’m done with this game. The combat isn’t rewarding enough to deal with all of the inventory and other busy work the game forces you to do. In combat I feel like I’m taking more damage than I’m dealing on a consistent basis.
  • Beyond: Two Souls – Finishing the game a second time did not make it any better. With the remix of the time line actually being in order made it more approachable but the story still is bad.
  • XCOM 2 – The first few missions do a lot of hand holding to get you going, which is nice. Having played the original game on PC, I’m struggling a bit with the PS4 controls but I think I’ll get the hang of it.

News

Well…. the pre-E3 news dump is upon us. Let’s do a quick version

  • Fortnite on Switch – This no-brainer was inevitable. The only real question in my opinion is what, if any, cross-platform support with there be?
  • Destiny expansion – I really wish I cared about this game. This isn’t doing anything to get me back into it either.
  • Bungie sells portion to NetEase – This is probably a long term strategy move so that they have money from someone other than Activision.
  • Evolve’s free-to-play going offline – The “classic” version will still be available but it’s not a good sign the that free-to-play mode, which was meant to prop up interest in the game, is going away.
  • Square Enix no longer developing ‘Go’ games – Not sure how well these games sold but the mobile market space just isn’t what it was and these games probably don’t fit into it any more.
  • Hitman 2 – Excited to hear that more of this game is coming. I never played the last game but I loved watching the Giant Bomb crew play. Some of the most ridiculous but perfect moments.
  • Valve to stop policing Steam – As if the store wasn’t already a mess, now they are even going to try to control it?
  • Generation Zero from Avalanche – The trailer looks like a mash up of Horizon Zero Dawn, the movie Red Dawn, State of Decay and it all set in 1980’s Sweden. Looks neat but I’d like to see more of it before getting excited about it.

Closing Arguments

E3 is at hand and all its glory. I predict Microsoft will roll out Crackdown 3 in some manner, maybe not in the main press event though, and something Halo related. Sony will have Call of Duty and Death Stranding. As far as those ‘chance-in-hell’ predictions, Half Life 3, I guess. Personally, I think there will be some unexpected announcements but there probably won’t be anything Earth shattering. Maybe Microsoft does something with Holo-lens or VR, Sony will probably try to push VR with some new games, and Nintendo will come out showing a bunch of games.

It feels like a weird time for E3 this year. The show itself is still evolving and games industry is nearing a transition point. The show is open to the public for the second year and there have already been a slew of announcements before the show has started. The press events continue to get further spread out as well. What seems the strangest to me is that we are potentially looking at new consoles announcing next year for a 2020 release. Yes, we are that far into this console generation.

Regardless, I will be watching as many of the press events I can. During the week I probably stay up way too late watching the Giant Bomb shows.

Oh, and I sat down with three other gents to record a podcast. Take a listen.

dudewantshisrug-profile
Paul Novak

Owner, Proprietor, Typer of Words, Gamer, Jester

A self described Polish ninja toiling away as an IT professional but more into gaming and writing. Physically existing on the western side of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania yet existentially flowing with the ether of the Internet.

Dude’s Chronicles 5-31-2018: The One Before Vacation

Image via pinterest.com

Did someone say vacation? Why, thank you.

Entertainment

  • Westworld: Season 2, Episode 6 – The longer this season goes on the less I care for it. I still contend that the plots are moving more outward than forward and that is why I don’t care for it.
  • Atomic Blonde – As much as I like this movie I feel that it falls short. The visuals, music and fight scenes are top notch but the story just doesn’t work for me.
  • Arrested Development: Season 5, Episodes 1-8 – Just like the Season 4 Remix, this season is truer to the form of the original show than when Season 4 was released. It gets a bit absurd but it was sill funny. Gives me hope for and keeps me interested in the second half of the season.

Games

  • Battletech – I wasn’t able to get much time into this game this week. What little time I did felt very frustrating.  When you have a mech that only has two weapons to fire and they both miss even though they had an 85% chance to hit, yeah frustrating. The other side of it is when you have a mech that has only one weapon that can fire but it hits even though it only had a 15% chance of hitting. The game does next to if not nothing at all to teach you how to play the game.
  • Beyond: Two Souls – Because. That is the only reason to play this. I played the original on PS3 but before Detroit: Become Human released this game was “free” via PSPlus. The one thing it did add was a remix where all the chapters are in chronological order. That makes the story better but it didn’t do a dang thing for the awful controls. The motion controls are bad enough when you have to sit there and shake a controller but when you are trying to literally walk your character to a different point and you trigger an event because the game thought you did the movement to trigger the action?
  • H1Z1 Battle Royale: Open Beta – It is not great looking yet not bad looking. Cartoony but more PUBG than Fortnite. My issue the shooting feels sloppy. As soon as you fire a gun you are off target. Maybe they are or have fixed this. By some chance I did finish 7th place once.

News

  • Fallout 76 – Man, when I saw that 76 on the dude’s back I really thought they had landed some crazy Fallout and Overwatch crossover with Soldier 76. Kind of still hoping that happens. No full details on what this game is but some mumblings are that its an always-on-line RPG in the vein H1Z1. Given that I didn’t care for Fallout 4 after never having played the previous games and I don’t care about H1Z1 or the like, I’m probably not the audience for this game but glad to see Bethesda isn’t planning on dumping out another remaster.
  • XCOM 2 is free!!! – Well, if you have PS Plus in June, which I do. I was legitimately looking at buying this game over the last few days. Copies were ranging, on various platforms, from $9 to $100. Thank you Sony for helping me settle on the no additional costs version.
  • Active Shooter pulled from Steam – Why was a school shooter simulator ever there to begin with is my question. I’m all for free speech and expression along with anybody making any game they want but maybe, just maybe Valve has enough money/power to say “no, thanks” in the first place. What seems even more incredulous on Valve’s part it was not the content that got the game banned. It was the fact that the creator was a “troll” and bad with customers.
  • PUBG sues EPIC – This is kind of a messy one since PUBG runs on EPIC’s Unreal Engine. Think about PUBG needing help with getting their game running correctly, EPIC doing internal development and testing, said testing done with the Fortnite game since, well… they already had it, PUBG gets the development help and EPIC thinks ‘hey, you know what might help our struggling game?”. The contention should be that EPIC has inside information on a competing game but it feels like PUBG’s stance is that they somehow own the battle royale genre. Apply that logic to third or first person shooters in general and you can have a really long, heated debate about who was first and who owns the genre. I can’t help but think that this is a case of spoiled milk between the two companies that could possible end in bad blood.
  • Crackdown 3 is not canceled – It is somewhat humorous that they had to come out and confirm that this is NOT canceled. Maybe anything other than canceled pre-orders on Amazon had been said about the game since E3 2017 this wouldn’t have been necessary.

Closing Arguments

I’m preparing for a week of vacation. No travel just time to relax. Probably play a lot of video games.

dudewantshisrug-profile
Paul Novak

Owner, Proprietor, Typer of Words, Gamer, Jester

A self described Polish ninja toiling away as an IT professional but more into gaming and writing. Physically existing on the western side of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania yet existentially flowing with the ether of the Internet.

Dude’s Chronicles 5-24-2018: Pre-Memorial Day

Only the dead have seen the end of war.

– George Santayana or Plato

It’s a holiday weekend, enjoy appropriately and responsibly.

Entertainment

  • Westworld: Season 2, Episode 5 – This episode felt like a big side step. They did things but it didn’t feel like anything moved forward. Disappointing to say the least after I enjoyed the previous episode.
  • Arrested Development: Season 4 – Finished it and now I’m ready for Season 5 on 5/28.
  • Hellboy 2 – This showed back up on Netflix so I watched it. Makes me wish they had gotten to finish out this trilogy.

Games

  • XCOM: Enemy Within – Finished the campaign and loved it again. There was just one thing…

  • Battletech – Finally got a bit of time into the game and oh boy! Apparently I just hit the point where they show you all of the things that you have maintain and customize. Everything from fixing and customizing your mechs to making sure you have enough people and the money to pay them. This is not something I was prepared for so I’m going to be needing to learn quite a lot to be effective.
  • Life is Strange: Before the Storm – Farewell DLC – It was short and sweet but man, that ending started out as a knee to the groin and ended as a twist of a knife. Quite well done but be ready for some heartache.

News

  • The Division 2 may release  before March 2019 – Ubisoft has already confirmed the game is coming and that it will be at E3. According to an earnings report the game should launch before the end of their fiscal year but this obviously isn’t set in stone yet. I’m looking forward to this game and am hoping for the best. They did a lot of work on this game after it released and I hope they continue the improvements with the sequel.
  • Second map coming to PUBG on Xbox One – This is great news because I need a new map to play terribly on. On a serious note, just doesn’t seem like this should have taken this long. What is making PUBG updates so slow on Xbox One? Maybe my expectations were off since I thought that a large number of issues would have been smoothed out while PUBG was still in Early Access on PC but maybe this shows just how hard they pushed to get it to the console and maybe it wasn’t nearly as ready as it could have been.
  • Resident Evil on Switch, sorta – It’s a 45MB download because it is a streaming client. Not to sure how well this will work but since I don’t play these games nor do I live in Japan, nor do I own a Switch I guess I’lll never know. However, I am in support of them working to get games on to the platform regardless of the delivery.
  • $100Million for Fortnite Tournaments – EPIC is apparently willing to put its money where its mouth is. Now all I need to get me some of this sweet cash is a team… a sponsor… and skill.
  • PS4 in final phase of life cycle – This coming from a Sony exec during an investors meeting is not a major revelation but more of a way to set expectations. It sounds like he was trying to say “hey, this thing has been out for a while and a lot of people already own it. Likely we aren’t going to keep selling huge amounts of consoles” without saying “hey, people are already figuring that we’re working on a new console and aren’t really buying the current one unless their’s dies”.
  • No more Vita games on physical media, outside of Japan – Add this to the fact that Vita and PS3 will no longer get free games under PS Plus in the coming months and you can figure out what is going on. Look for the Vita to keep fading away.

Closing Arguments

While you enjoy your weekend please remember why we have it. Be sure to honor and respect all of the veterans.

dudewantshisrug-profile
Paul Novak

Owner, Proprietor, Typer of Words, Gamer, Jester

A self described Polish ninja toiling away as an IT professional but more into gaming and writing. Physically existing on the western side of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania yet existentially flowing with the ether of the Internet.

Dude’s Chronicles 5-17-2018: Bees?!?!?

Image via tenor.com

I’ll let you guess what I’ve been watching more of.

Entertainment

  • Westworld: Season 2, Episode 4 – This feels like the first episode that did anything substantial and actually moved some of the plot forward. Until now I didn’t have much hope and a waning interest but know I’m curious again.
  • Arrested Development: Season 4 – It still amazes me how much more I am enjoying it after the remix.
  • Black Panther – If I missed something about this movie then it was a complete and total miss because this felt like the worst Marvel movie yet. The plot and the characters never came together much less resonated in any way. Good thing other people enjoyed it but it just wasn’t what I expected or wanted. I still plan on watching it again just to see if I did miss something.

Games

  • XCOM: Enemy Within – Trying to finish out the Enemy Within campaign so I can move on to …
  • Battletech – Having played a little bit more of this game I am interested in it but trying to weave my playing time in-between it and XCOM just doesn’t work. Although they are both turn based games the mechanics are very different. My experience has been that swapping between them just won’t work, therefore I want to finish my XCOM play-through  then tackle Battletech.
  • God of War – I really tried to finish all of the Valkyrie fights but that last one really soured me on the whole thing. I probably failed on that fight about 50 times and that was after I turned down the difficulty. Just so one fight didn’t ruin what I thought of the game, I stopped playing this game. My thoughts are still very positive of this game and my failure at this fight is more my fault than anything but it’s still a bummer to not be able to pull it off.

News

  • Rage 2 is official – Guess those Wal-Mart Canadians weren’t fooling. Since they accidentally outed the game, and potentially others, Bethesda just went ahead and officially announced it. Never having played the first one, I’m not too interested in it.
  • RIP Boss Key – Four short years after opening the Cliff Bleszinski studio has shut its doors. It may have been that they over invested in Lawbreakers and its underperformance drained the company of resources. The last ditch effort of Radical Heights apparently didn’t help replenish those resources. Hope all those out of jobs find new ones soon.
  • Battlefield V is official – This wasn’t a big surprise. Not sure how interested I am as I didn’t get into Battlefield 1 and this is supposed to be structured similar to it.
  • Xbox Adaptive Controller is official – Good on Microsoft working to bring games to more people that can’t use standard or traditional controls.

Closing Arguments

No big plans this weekend. Last weekend wen’t well with the family. Spent most of the day at my mother’s cooking prime rib, which was fantastic. Nothing like that, or anything at all, planned just going to take it as it comes.

dudewantshisrug-profile
Paul Novak

Owner, Proprietor, Typer of Words, Gamer, Jester

A self described Polish ninja toiling away as an IT professional but more into gaming and writing. Physically existing on the western side of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania yet existentially flowing with the ether of the Internet.

It’s the Freakin’ Weekend! What are You Playing?

Brad is out of town but games will still be played. Sorry Brad but we hope you are having a good time whilst we continue gaming.

This weekend is Mother’s Day. Don’t say I didn’t remind you about it. Get your mother something nice. Maybe do something she has been asking you to do but you keep putting of. If you live to far away send flowers or just pick of the phone and give her a call. She’d love to her from you. My siblings and I decided since our mother really didn’t want anything we would cook her a nice meal.  We’ll be making prime rib accompanied by horseradish carrots. Don’t tell her about it though, it’s a surprise. If I hear that she finds out about I’m coming right back here and straightening all of you out for spilling the beans.

As for games, I am still into God of War. I’ve finished the campaign and most of the realm tears. For some reason I am now going through all of the Valkyries. Even after turning the difficulty down I am struggling. Maybe age is a upon me and my reaction time is lacking, or I just suck at playing games(highly possible) but some of these fights are ridiculous. When I had it on regular difficulty, I kid you not, one of the fights was over in about 15 seconds and it was not because I won. The Valkyrie hit me with one attack, jumped into the air, landed on me, then stomped me to death. It wasn’t pretty.

But speaking of pretty, God of War added a photo mode. If you haven’t played or even seen this game, let me tell you, it’s beautiful looking. I don’t know how they shipped this game without a photo mode but I’m glad they added it and I look forward to seeing what people do with it. Horizon Zero Dawn also went through this progression and people were able to be creative with what they photoed.

Final reminder…. It’s Mother’s Day weekend. Put down the game, for just a bit, and do something nice for your mom.

What will you be playing???

dudewantshisrug-profile
Paul Novak

Owner, Proprietor, Typer of Words, Gamer, Jester

A self described Polish ninja toiling away as an IT professional but more into gaming and writing. Physically existing on the western side of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania yet existentially flowing with the ether of the Internet.

Dude’s Chronicles 5-10-2018: That One After An On-Call Weekend

Image via fortune.com

No call this weekend but it’s Mother’s Day weekend. Time for family stuff.

Entertainment

  • Westworld: Season 2, Episode 3 – Haven’t watched it, maybe tonight(not a very strong maybe).
  • Robotech – I finished the 85 episodes and it was a mix of stuff I remembered and stuff that just seemed weird.  Maybe it’s an anime thing but this series just had a strange feel to it. It’s not the regular cartoons I’m accustomed to but that not necessarily a bad thing. Maybe I’ll watch more anime, or maybe not.
  • Arrested Development: Season 4 – The remix of this season makes it so much more watchable it is astounding. I hated the season when it was first release because it was so hard to watch and follow because of how the formatted the episodes. They have completely undone that format and this feels much more like the original show. Thanks Ron Howard for fixing what you broke. Before they did this I was against a Season 5 but now I want to watch Season 4 before Season 5 releases at the end of the month.

Games

  • XCOM: Enemy Within – Back into the game after restarting the campaign. My summation that I was ill prepared is apparently correct as I am handling encounters much better this time around.
  • Battletech – I think I have my GPU problem under control, more on that some other time, but I’ve been too into other games(see above and below) to put any time into this game.
  • God of War – Every time I think I’m done with this game I find myself back into it. I did a lot of the realm encounters and thought I was done but apparently there were two more realms that I had not even been to. This kept me going for a while and then I decided to try the Valkyrie fights. Even after turning the difficulty down all I can say is those Valkyries are a bunch of MF’ers.

News

  • God of War photo mode – Much like Horizon Zero Dawn this is a huge addition. The game is absolutely gorgeous and photo mode will surely bring out the creativity in players. Looking forward to all the pictures.
  • Wal-marts ooops! – Why announce your game at E3 when you can just have a major retailer out your game by mistaken posting a pre-order for it? Those crazy Canadians posted pre-orders for games like Gears of War 5, Borderlands 3, and a few other games both announced and unannounced. Still not a 100% confirmation but certainly more evidence.
  • Steam Link app on Android and iOS – So, your Apple TV can do what the Steam Link hardware does? So, there is no point for a Steam Link device? So, Steam Link and Steam Machines are both dead??? Well, kill off the Steam Controller and Valve is officially out of the hardware business. Good thing they are back to making games! All joking aside, this is actually a pretty cool idea but I don’t know how practical it is. As someone who has tried to stream his PS4 to his Macbook, I’m not sold on this being a practical application.

Closing Arguments

Don’t forget to do something nice for your mother. Happy Mother’s Day!

dudewantshisrug-profile
Paul Novak

Owner, Proprietor, Typer of Words, Gamer, Jester

A self described Polish ninja toiling away as an IT professional but more into gaming and writing. Physically existing on the western side of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania yet existentially flowing with the ether of the Internet.