Dude’s Chronicles 2-15-2018: Only The Lonely

I hope everyone enjoyed their Valentine’s Day. I hope everyone enjoyed their Ash Wednesday. I really enjoyed going into work early and staying late. I know, I’m making you jealous.

Entertainment

  • Giant Bomb –  The Exquisite Corps, Thirteen Deadly Sims, and The Bombcast are all top watches.
  • Comedians In Cars Getting Coffee – I finished all the episodes on Netflix. Seems like there should be more. Anybody know?

Games

  • Mass Effect: Andromeda – I finished the main campaign on Xbox. There is the want to keep leveling up and clear out side missions but I want to jump into an Insanity play-through. That only reminds me that I never finished my Insanity play-through on PS4. So now I feel the need to play both play-throughs. So confused.
  • The Division – I miss the Global Events, I have to admit it. Here’s hoping they do another one soon. Kind of doubt it based on the schedule of the last few. Some are expecting or hoping for an announcement of a sequel at E3 or other events this year. Unfortunately I doubt that as well as Ubisoft seems to be focused on other properties… bummer, hope I’m wrong.

News

  • People Like The Fortnite – The game hits 3.4 million concurrent users and can’t handle the load. Go figure? I’ll take a guess that the majority of users were in the Battle Royale mode, not Save The World mode… just guessing. Good to see that the game is doing well but I’m kind of worried how much EPIC is investing in it versus how little they are investing in other IP’s.
  • Another Metal Gear Survive beta – I’ll be on-call for work this weekend but I want to play this. There isn’t a reason why I want to play but I want to play. This game isn’t Metal Gear but what is Metal Gear?
  • Activision + micro-transactions = $$$ – Apparently the company made half of its money on micro-transactions. Not sure how to feel about that. With the way Battlefront II handled them versus other games… I can’t help but think I’m ok with cosmetic items but not game effecting upgrades.
  • Fortnite… No SMG’s for You! – In an attempt to better balance the game, EPIC has removed most of the SMG’s from the game. I’ll commend them, again, for improving the game. Too bad they can’t patch it so that I’m better and my lack of skill isn’t a problem(that’s a joke, I’m not good but I’m not salty about, please don’t take it seriously).

Closing Arguments

Only the Lonely was an old, great, Roy Orbison song. That should be the first thing one thinks of but I saw a Tweet stating that it is this week in 1996 when John Candy died. Well, it made me think of John Candy, thus the reference to one of his movies, but the Tweet is wrong from what I can find. From what the rest of the Internet tells me he died on 3/4/1994. Don’t believe everything you see on the Internet, I guess.

Beyond thinking of John Candy, and all his great movies, it reminds me of a conversation I had with a friend years after Candy’s death. Canadian Bacon was on the television and my friend said that if he were to invade Canada, John Candy would be his leader. This conversation happened sometime around 2000 and my first reaction was “You do realize he’s dead?”. To which my friend responded in surprise, “What?”. I then had to tell him that Candy was also Canadian. The next hours were spent explaining that Candy had been dead for years, he died filming Wagons East(if I remember correctly), and Canadian Bacon release posthumously. To this day I’m not sure my friend believes me.

dudewantshisrug-profile
Paul Novak

Owner, Proprietor, Typer of Words, Gamer, Jester

A self described Polish ninja toiling away as an IT professional but more into gaming and writing. Physically existing on the western side of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania yet existentially flowing with the ether of the Internet.

Advertisements

Dude’s Chronicles 2-8-2018: Sleep?

Image via achc.org

Sorry about not posting last week. It was a rough week and I just didn’t have the time or energy. I worked almost seventy hours, which exhausted me physically and mentally. Then to top it all of I got sick and it felt like somebody punched me in the ear. Got it looked at, likely just fluid not draining because of all the swelling in my sinuses.

Entertainment

  • Football – The good news is the Patriots lost. The bad news is the Eagles won.
  • Giant Bomb – The site is back in the swing of things with getting regular content posted. The Exquisite Corps is back and it reminds I bought XCOM but still have not finished it. If you don’t follow the series the quick explanation is that three staff from the New York office rotate command  episode to episode. Maybe if I had Vinny Caravella helping me out too I wouldn’t be stuck. Last I played I was getting wrecked at the one alien base and just couldn’t find a way through it. Not sure if I want to try that again or if I should just start the game over. The thought is that I’ve learned a little bit about the game and maybe I could do things differently and be better off when I get back to this particular alien base.
  • Batman – Since I watched Batman and Batman Returns I felt compelled to watch Batman Forever as well as Batman and Robin. Guess what? There just as good as the day they released. They weren’t that good then and they aren’t that good now. Time has tempered my opinion as I can kind of just laugh at how gaudy they are and not get mad about it.
  • Comedians In Cars Getting Coffee – This is an entertaining series from and entertaining person. Yet again he has somehow found away to make a successful show that has no premise or plot. He just meets up with people, drives them in a car, and then has coffee with them. After a few episodes I was thinking “Well, he’ll never have Michael Richards on this show, even after all these years. His meltdown was too much”. No sooner than I completed that though the episode starring Richards came on. I had forgotten that Seinfeld publicly came out in support of his friend. Richards himself seemed legitimately contrite and remorseful about his actions. It was a very special and serious moment in an otherwise funny show. Definitely worth a watch. I plan to continue watching this series.

Games

  • Mass Effect: Andromeda – A couple hours here and there have gotten me near the end of the story. The hope is that I can finish it up this week.
  • The Division – When I’ve been too tired to play Andromeda this game has been the video game equivalent of comfort food. It’s still fun to play for the shorts bursts I play and I know the mechanics so well I can still play even when I’m tired.

News

  • Athem reportedly pushed to 2019 – This isn’t a big surprised but rather something that keeps the worry level up for this game. EA has pushed out a few duds lately, Andromeda and Battlefront II. Hopefully a delay is a good thing.
  • Xbox Game Pass gets day one access to Microsoft exclusives – This would be a bigger deal if Microsoft had more first party exclusives. Surely they have some in the pike but there are few to be seen at the moment to make this feel like more than a bolt on to the service.
  • PUBG anti-cheat measures – It is good that they are taking measures to stop cheating but there is that little part of me that wants to call bullshit. The step PUBG took to curb cheat was to not allow the file structure to be manipulated. That means that some of the cheats will make the game unplayable after installation. The dark side of my mind puts it together that this measure was taken just after it was let out that people are deleting the files for the newer map, all so they don’t have to play it. Is this really PUBG taking measures to make sure people play both maps? I hope not but there is always that change.
  • Dr. Disrepect racism – The guy takes time off after admitting to infidelity and immediately he starts a controversy by impersonating Asian people to mock them. If that wasn’t enough he tries to prove he’s not racist when called out on it by talking about how he knows many people of many nationalities. The problem is is that doesn’t prove anything. Just because you have friends of different cultural backgrounds doesn’t mean you do or don’t harbor racist feelings. There is an old adage that comes to mind – “Don’t listen to a man, watch him”. The meaning being that it doesn’t matter what a man says because he can control his words but his actions are more true of what his thoughts and feelings are. From what I see I don’t believe Dr. Disrespect but I don’t have to. I’ll continue my stance of not watching or supporting his content.
  • PUBG player count down – Don’t get to excited. It is probably partially caused by the rampant cheating. PUBG is working on and has banned tons of accounts, which is part of the dip in numbers, but there were a lot of people that just stopped playing because of the cheating. There will likely be a rise in numbers again.

Closing Arguments

Last week I wrote about fixing my Macbook. This week I fixed my toilet. After twelve years of use my lid decided it was done. As I have many times before, I put the seat down to sit while I trimmed a toenail and as soon as my weight was on the seat fully it broke. Damn near got a wet ass from it but the cracking and sudden drop scared me enough to jump straight back up. $13 later, I have a new toilet seat.

dudewantshisrug-profile
Paul Novak

Owner, Proprietor, Typer of Words, Gamer, Jester

A self described Polish ninja toiling away as an IT professional but more into gaming and writing. Physically existing on the western side of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania yet existentially flowing with the ether of the Internet.

Dude’s Chronicles 1-25-2018: Fixing Some Stuff

Image via macpalace.com

In all honesty, I think the lack of sleep is really getting to me. It took almost an hour to balance my check book and I was constantly typing the wrong numbers in to the calculator. Good thing I’ve got another midnight shift this weekend at work to help me still not get any sleep.

Entertainment

  • Football – Uh, Patriots. I feel bad for the Jaguars and Keenum. Jaguars because it feels like they got Patriot’ed. You know those things that go the way of the Patriots but never go that way for any other team. Keenum had a great year but had his worst game against, an admittedly, good defense. Somehow I have to find a way to root for the Eagles.
  • The Men Who Stare At Goats – I love this movie. Perhaps George Clooney’s best work. It is just great entertainment, for me at least.
  • I haven’t been watching much else because the aforementioned lack of sleep has made it hard to concentrate on anything. The few things I’ve tried watching have been a waste of time just because I couldn’t force myself to follow them properly.

Games

  • Mass Effect: Andromeda – I’ve gotten a little further but not much. Hitting more side and loyalty missions than main story ones.
  • The Division – There is currently a Global Event where they have special modifiers and reward different gear. I’ve not played much, maybe two to three hours. The loot I’ve gotten has been fine. Little disappointed that I got three sets of the same kneepads. Wish they would spread it out so that you don’t get duplicates so easy.
  • Monster Hunter: World Beta – Having only played the first two quests all I can say is that it seems like a fine and well built game but it did not capture my interests. One of the things that turned me off was the fact that all the quests were timed. I understand that this is part of the game design but I didn’t like feeling rushed.
  • Metal Gear Survive Beta – It is a weird remix of Metal Gear assets, zombies, and survival games. It didn’t feel bad to play but it didn’t feel well explained, even for a beta. There was nearly no explanation that I could find for how menus or systems worked much less what you are supposed to be doing in the game.

News

  • Athem reportedly pushed to 2019 – This isn’t a big surprised but rather something that keeps the worry level up for this game. EA has pushed out a few duds lately, Andromeda and Battlefront II. Hopefully a delay is a good thing.
  • Xbox Game Pass gets day one access to Microsoft exclusives – This would be a bigger deal if Microsoft had more first party exclusives. Surely they have some in the pike but there are few to be seen at the moment to make this feel like more than a bolt on to the service.

Closing Arguments

Late last week I went to watch a video on my Macbook. I was startled by the buzzing that started coming from the left side. Turns out the speaker had somehow blown out. With that I looked at new Macbook prices and quickly stopped looking. Even though it is four years old, the cost of a replacement isn’t much of an upgrade. After some research I found the part number for a speaker kit and decided to take matters into my own hands. The kit cost about $70 and I already had to tools to open up the Macbook(about another $10). In less than twenty minutes I had the new speaker installed and working. Far better to have done the job myself rather than investing upwards of $1,300. Feels good to do something yourself and save a chunk of money doing it.

dudewantshisrug-profile
Paul Novak

Owner, Proprietor, Typer of Words, Gamer, Jester

A self described Polish ninja toiling away as an IT professional but more into gaming and writing. Physically existing on the western side of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania yet existentially flowing with the ether of the Internet.

Dude’s Chronicles 1-18-2018: Keep It Moving

Image via QuotesNew.com

As the new year trudges along, I do as well. I don’t know about where you are but it is cold and snowy here. There is some relief in the form of warmer weather with rain but I don’t suspect it will last long.

Entertainment

  • Batman – The 1989 edition will always have a special place to me and when I saw it on Netflix I had to watch. No idea when they put it on but glad they did. Being old enough to have seen this in the movie theatre brings back memories like how this movie came out of virtually nowhere and was a huge phenomenon. To this day it is still the best live action Batman movie in my opinion. It was more stylish, dark but cartoony than the newer movies and I like that better.
  • Batman Returns – Well of course I had to watch this after watching Batman. I remember when everybody lost their minds when it was announced that there would be two villains in this movie. Nowadays that doesn’t seem like a big thing but back then it was unheard of. The protagonist/antagonist was always a 1-to-1 ratio but this movie proved it didn’t have to be.
  • My Next Guest Needs No Introduction with David Letterman – Good to see Mr. Letterman back in the hosting seat. Always enjoyed his interviews just wish there was more than one episode.

Games

  • Mass Effect: Andromeda – I haven’t played much and this is what I’ve spent the little play time I’ve had. Having gotten to Elaaden I’m likely sticking with it to completion. This is kind of filling the lull in games right now and the lull looks like it will last a while, at least for me.

News

  • Fortnite update – Tons of bug fixes and tweaks but the big news is the additional landmarks being put on the map. From what I gather, its not a new map but it does give people new things to check out. Good to see more and more support for this game
  • Fortnite is apparently killing other games – Based on what has been written in some EPIC forums, the game’s popularity is pulling players and resources from other games like Paragon. How much the player base has been affected is unknown but if EPIC truly has straight up diverted resources from other games it says a lot of what they think the prospects of those games are versus what they think about Fortnite’s.
  • New Overwatch map coming – I wish this news meant more to me because I truly loved that game when I was playing it but I haven’t had any urge to play it in months and this news unfortunately does nothing to change that. Good on Blizzard keeping the game going and supporting their new league even if my interest continues to wane.
  • Nintendo Labo – I am baffled, stunned, and intrigued by this. Instead of virtual reality or augmented reality Nintendo went with real reality? Granted the one robot suit type offering looks kind of like virtual reality, the rest look they they are making the Switch interact with real objects rather than having the player interact with virtual objects. This will either prove to be brilliant or end up as badly as uDraw, well maybe not that bad.

Closing Arguments

Work beckons me this weekend in the mid-hours of the morning so my sleep schedule is f’d to say the least along with my time for recreation. There are two betas this weekend I am hoping to get some time into – Monster Hunter: World and Metal Gear Survive. Having never played a Monster Hunter game I have a genuine curiosity about the game and was kind of pissed when I missed that previous beta. The game looks gorgeous but I don’t know if the gameplay will be something I get into but I want to try it out. As far as Metal Gear Survive… I just have to see what Konami is doing to this franchise. Having loved MGSV:GZ and MGSV:TP I want to see how they adapted the gameplay into a survival game. Plus, I just have to know how much crazier they can make Metal Gear.

dudewantshisrug-profile
Paul Novak

Owner, Proprietor, Typer of Words, Gamer, Jester

A self described Polish ninja toiling away as an IT professional but more into gaming and writing. Physically existing on the western side of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania yet existentially flowing with the ether of the Internet.

Dude’s Chronicles 1-11-2018: That New Year Smell

smell good so people like you

Image via jakeisfantastic.com

I don’t know… so far this year is pretty much like last year. There is plenty of time to turn it around, I’m sure of it.

Entertainment

  • Football – So… The Patriots again? Please prove me wrong, somebody, anybody.
  • Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Season 4 – I had been watching this when it originally aired but fell off when it took a mid-season break. Netflix added this season at some point and I finally took the time to finish the season. After enjoying the Aida storyline I felt really let down with how they ended it. It was so abrupt and anti-climatic it somewhat negated the entire season for me.

Games

  • The Division – Like I said, every time I quit this game I come back.
  • Mass Effect: Andromeda – The more I play this game the sadder I get. I realize how monotonous and repetitive the gameplay and quests are. It’s getting hard to stick with it at this point.
  • PUBG – Haven’t been playing too much. My best finish has been 11th of late. I would have made the to 10 had I been paying attention and not let another player completely get the drop on me or not been dumb enough to go after a drop box that a sniper was staking out. Live and learn.

News

  • PUBG has 3 million players on Xbox One – This means 2,999,999 people other than myself paid $30 to be a beta tester. No regrets, even with all the problems it is a rather fun game.
  • $90 million, Twitch paid for exclusive broadcasts rights of Overwatch League – Don’t get me wrong, I like Overwatch. What I don’t understand is why these rights would be worth so much. The game isn’t that big on the broadcast scene, regularly drawing less viewers that many other games. Even the implementation of this league has been somewhat of a mess with a team/city bailing out. Unless I missed something I just don’t understand why Twitch would do this other than to spend some of that sweet, sweet Amazon money.
  • Wireless Vive announced at CES – Other breaking news, I’m still not buying VR. Until there are more games and less ‘experiences’ I’m steering clear. Remember 3D tv’s?
  • Star Citizen raises over $34 million in 2017 – Gee, I wish I had something that never produced tangible results but people continuously through money at. Oh wait, I have a day job that they keep paying me for that is just an endless series of tasks. Same thing, pretty much. Not the same payout though.

Closing Arguments

I tell myself, and everybody around me, it’s going to get better. Mind you I never say when.

 

dudewantshisrug-profile
Paul Novak

Owner, Proprietor, Typer of Words, Gamer, Jester

A self described Polish ninja toiling away as an IT professional but more into gaming and writing. Physically existing on the western side of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania yet existentially flowing with the ether of the Internet.

Dude’s Chronicles 1-4-2018: In The New Year

Image via zazzle.com

Happy New Year and all that. Hope everyone enjoyed the holidays and is surviving life getting back to normal.

Entertainment

  • Football – There weren’t many surprises but I spent a ton of time watching.
  • Giant Bomb – Since they released all of their holiday and game of the year content most of my hours have been consumed listening and watching them. Great entertainment.

Games

  • The Division – Well, every time I say I’m done with this game I keep coming back to it. Given all the trash drops I’m getting for loot and just general lack of interest, I’m done with this game. Like all the other times I say this I
    ‘ll probably be back at some point.
  • Mass Effect: Andromeda – After signing up for EA Access this was the first game I downloaded, not sure what that says about me. I’m not too far into it, just got to the first planet, but I’m feeling this game again. There are still all the flaws with the story and delivery but I find myself enjoying it. Just makes me sad know there will be no DLC and no new game is on the radar.
  • PUBG – Sometimes I do good, other times not so good. This game gets me so wound up I can only play one game and then I need a break. Depending on how it went depends on how long that break needs to be determines how long my break needs to be. Generally the higher I finish, the longer my break is.

News

  • PUBG 3 million concurrent players – That is huge for any game and speaks loads for how many people are enjoying the game.
  • PUBG on other platforms – The CEO hinted at they went to Xbox first because Sony is ‘very strict’ about quality? I’d love for him to explain this better but I’m pretty sure there was a big fat check from Xbox that influenced the decision as well.
  • Lawbreakers get written off – When a company writes of an asset that pretty much says it feels it isn’t worth keeping. I never played this game because it didn’t look interesting to me. It looked vanilla and had no hook. I think the game itself is more the reason for its poor performance rather than the success of PUBG as been implied.
  • Paladins Battlegrounds – We all new this was coming, another PUBG clone. To straight up put Battlegrounds in the name is a ‘bold’ choice.

Closing Arguments

So… this year may be a little slow on the blog front. I’ve come to accept that outside of these posts I don’t have much to publish. I’ll still do a review here and there but that was never what I really enjoyed doing, not that I hate or anything just rather do other things. What I always enjoyed more was the more collaborative work but it seems hard to connect with people to do it. Outside the constraints of time and distance, I’d love to do more and I’m open to opportunities. With that said I’ll keep poking around here and looking for things to do but I’m not going to force myself to post content. If there is something I want to put up here I will but outside of this series I’m not planning any regular content.

Let’s all put 2017 behind and make 2018 a great year all around. Be positive and supportive.

dudewantshisrug-profile
Paul Novak

Owner, Proprietor, Typer of Words, Gamer, Jester

A self described Polish ninja toiling away as an IT professional but more into gaming and writing. Physically existing on the western side of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania yet existentially flowing with the ether of the Internet.

Dude’s Chronicles 12-21-2017: That One Before 2018

Image via schweitzer.com

2017 is almost over and I like many others am not sad to see it go. Let’s hope 2017 is better all around.

Entertainment

  • Star Wars – I have now watched the two trilogies and have only The Force Awakens to complete my watch-through of the series. Not sure when I’ll do that will all the football on this weekend.
  • Fantasy football – Unbelievably I managed to win the championship in both of my leagues. Better enjoy it now, it may never happen again.

Games

  • The Division – With a double reward event going on I played a little bit more. Still getting garbage drops, just twice as often.
  • PUBG – Haven’t had too much time to invest in this but I pulled a 5th and two 15th place finishes since my first chicken dinner.

News

  • Not Much

Closing Arguments

The year that was 2017 wasn’t a great one on many fronts. It seems that it was a very good year for gaming but a lousy for just about everything else. I for one am holding out that 2018 will be better in many ways. A few things here and there are pointing me in that direction. Unexpectedly winning a PUBG chicken dinner, winning both fantasy leagues and a few other things have me thinking this way.

I keep watching A Very Murray Christmas and one song gets to me more than any of them. Hope you enjoy it to.

Happy New Year.

 

 

dudewantshisrug-profile
Paul Novak

Owner, Proprietor, Typer of Words, Gamer, Jester

A self described Polish ninja toiling away as an IT professional but more into gaming and writing. Physically existing on the western side of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania yet existentially flowing with the ether of the Internet.